What’s your escape?

Over at Daily Speculations, Rod Frey comments that:

“The Chair (Niederhoffer) and some of his colleagues have their racquets to help relieve stress; some others play golf or go biking. I play hockey.”

I think it’s healthy to have something else to ‘get lost’ in other than the markets, which can be quite unforgiving. My escapes are:

  • Tennis and squash
  • The gym
  • Sitting in the garden with a good book, surrounded by nature

Escapes don’t strictly have to be activities. They don’t even have to be healthy. For example, when I used to work in the City, one of my escapes was a cheese and bean wrap (sandwich), that I used to eat on the train on the way home.

What are your escapes?

3 responses to “What’s your escape?

  1. A day watching (or coaching) my 12 year old at Baseball. Going to a Met game, or playing a little basketball. Also sitting in front of the TV eating 20-30 (literally) KitKat bars.

  2. I like Squash, Skiing, Golf, coaching the kids in their various activities. I have 4 of them, so I seem to spend a lot of time in that activity. Fishing, is great, I just don’t have enough of the time I need to learn the fly art. Reading and movies but movies are just difficult to attend unless they are cartoons with my 4 sub 9 year olds.

  3. Banker – I’m impressed. I once are three Kit Kats in a single sitting but that was my limit!

Leave a Reply

