Trading quotes

And the great sea with its friends and its enemies. And bed, he thought. Bed is my friend. Just bed, he thought. Bed will be a great thing. It is easy when you are beaten, he thought. I never knew how easy it was. And what beat you, he thought. ‘Nothing’, he said aloud. ‘I went out too far.’

– Hemingway, The Old Man and the Sea

‘At that point I ought to have gone away, but a strange sensation rose up in me, a sort of defiance of fate, a desire to challenge it, to put out my tongue at it. I laid down the largest stake allowed – four thousand gulden – and lost it. Then, getting hot, I pulled out all I had left, staked it on the same number, and lost again, after which I walked away from the table as though I were stunned. I could not even grasp what had happened to me.’

– The Gambler, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

If you must play, decide upon three things at the start: the rules of the game, the stakes, and the quitting time.

– Chinese Proverb

Luck never gives; it only lends.

– Swedish Proverb

Depend on the rabbit’s foot if you will, but remember it didn’t work for the rabbit.

– R.E. Shay

4 responses to “Trading quotes

  1. Dostoevski f’ing rules.

  2. I should qualify that…

    There is nobody who writes about the existential human condition like good old Fyodor. My favorite book is probably Notes from the Underground, but my favorite chapter is “The Grand Inquisitor”, from The Brothers Karamazov. Nevermind…I like it all.

  3. Just added Notes from the Underground to my Amazon wish list, cheers Jay. I’ve only read ‘The Gambler’ so far, but it says so much about the human condition, no doubt helped by the fact that Fyodor was writing to a tight deadline to complete the book to help clear his gambling debts. I sense a pattern here. Cervantes also wrote Don Quixote to help find his way out of debtor’s prison.

  4. I just was over at Amazon looking up every wish list under “caravaggio”, but no luck…was gonna surprise you. LOL.

Leave a Reply

